
web·fuckwittage is the first of a number of sites, each detailing a particular form of egregious behaviour. For more about the whole network, see fuckwittage.org
None here yet. Although coming eventually should be:
Newest first - the layout will be much more sane once I start sticking them into the database, rather than monkeying around in one big text file.
People who can't sort out http://example.com/ from working:
Minus 200 brownie points if you've also branded yourself example.com but still fail to respond. Must get round to coding this up properly.
Note this doesn't mean I have any bone to pick with whatever those organisations do the rest of the time, indeed since I was heading to their site, I likely quite like them. I'm only growling since there's a geek somewhere who could fix this little annoyance.
The Goldfish Web site's certificate failed it's authenticity check (my browser didn't recognise the VeriSign that seemed to have signed it). I phone them to sort out my account and also ask about the Web site, they suggest looking on the site to find a number to call them about the Web site. Duh.
www.
For feck's sake - if you run a Web site then configure your server properly to respond to http://whateveryourdomainis/ and http://www.whateveryourdomainis/ - it isn't hard, and especially if you publicise your company name as petsovernight.com or whatever, it just makes you look dopey if you don't let people get there that way.
If you are seeing this page, we have detected that the browser that you are using will not render MSN.com correctly. Additionally, you'll see the most advanced functionality of MSN.com only with the latest version of Microsoft Internet Explorer or MSN Explorer. If you wish to visit MSN.com, please select the appropriate download link below.
- Internet Explorer for Windows
- Internet Explorer for Macintosh
- MSN Explorer for Windows
Cheers, it's not like the Web is a heterogeneous platform or anything. See slashdot for the full rant-fest.
The above quote is "©2001 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.", but quoted here as fair use for commenting on.
Stories about BT OpenWorld screwing up are ten-a-penny, my favourite is their fantastic standard line from BT OpenWorld that "You'll have to talk to BT about that" since they're playing the brand-bollocks game where they both are and are not BT. Joy.
Cheers to Oracle for this one, on their Page Not Found (404) error page:
Sorry. This page does not exist.
The Oracle Technology Network website is an ever changing collection of information on Oracle products and technology, and we've either removed or relocated the document you requested.
Grrrr.... Why is it 'ever changing' you bloody fuckwits! But there's more:
If you would like to report a broken link, please contact us. If you're using a JavaScript enabled browser, a cookie will be set to record this location and the location you arrived from, helping us fix the link more quickly.
Because you clearly couldn't put that information right in the link to contact us - of course not. Bonusly needing other stuff to do the job which there are perfectly sound ways to do which work everywhere is just plain dopey. Although this is on a site where they redirect http://technet.Oracle.com/products/intermedia/ to http://technet.Oracle.com/products/intermedia/index.htm - USING JAVASCRIPT! Aargh. I cast thee out - demons of fuckwittage!
Again, please don't move things around arbitrarily. From http://www.bt.com/phonenetuk/, where the BT directory services has lived since 1999. /phonenetuk/ might suck a bit as a URI, but they could at least take you to somewhere sensible. Of course it's now at http://www.bt.com/directory-enquiries/dq_home.jsp?vStore=undefined, which is just lovely. And no, http://www.bt.com/directory-enquiries/ doesn't work, it just gives a 404 - Page Not Found. http://www.bt.com/directoryenquiries/ does work, but forwards to the .jsp page.
grrrr...
Due to recent changes to our service our Online Directory Enquiries service can no longer be accessed from this URL.
If you have this page bookmarked within your browser we suggest that you amend the bookmark to take you to http://www.bt.com (Please refer to your browsers help file for details on how to do this.)
To access our Directory Enquiry service please visit www.bt.com, and follow the link at the right of the page, where you will be able to take advantage of our free service which allows unregistered users 10 free searches per day and registered users, once logged in, an additional 200 free searches per month.
Thank you for using BT.com Directory Enquiries
Cheers to Mary for the heads-up.
Please don't move things around arbitrarily:
http://cinema.scoot.co.uk/cinema.asp?r=CINOC&a=00787&cc=483
http://cinema.scoot.co.uk/cinemafinder/scoot.asp?ae=London&r=CINOC&a=00801&cc=483
The Scoot site sucks badly enough that if you have a few cinemas you go to often, you're damned to get to them in good time. So you bookmark them. But then they move the scripts, and make the location (the ae=London bit) mandatory! It can be anywhere, but it's terribly important that it's there! The a=00787 is an encoding of the location too, it won't change the results, just some of the links on the page. Woebetide anything missing the parameter, persistance of URL's doesn't matter right? And don't get me started about why they pass all this crufty information in get parameters.
Still, scoot.com may only have a few weeks' money left.